Creating My Professional Digital Identity

As a marketing major, it’s kind of impossible to hide my social media from future employers, and as such it simply makes more sense to make them into something spectacular, rather than something to disguise. This entire semester I’ve had the opportunity to work on building my personal/professional digital identity across platforms in order to both connect with voices in the industry, and to make my voice sound.

First, I really thought about who I was and who/what influences me online on a day-to-day basis, then also what kind of voice I wanted to have across mediums.

Digital Influence

From here, I looked at my social networks and decided which I wanted to use personally, and which I wanted to use professionally.This lead to essentially making the bulk of my posts on Facebook private, and cleaning up content I was sharing across other platforms. I wanted my blog to be the focal point, where I created marketing and professional content. I then shared it and other information across Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, and Google+.

Infographic: Digital Identity

Klout (1)

I really viewed creating and building my professional digital identity as a success. I achieved more than I thought I could, and in the end it totally paid off, helping me to secure an amazing job in my field!

pvs

As for my professional values statement, you can find it in full here, but I really focused it around how the traditional consumer decision-making process is changing in the digital age, and while it’s a great way to connect with customers, it’s also important to remain respectful of their data and information.

The end! I’m very proud of the work I’ve accomplished this semester, that really is an accumulation & reflection of my past 3.5 years in college.

Leave a Reply

